Black & White

‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’
Matthew 34:40

I could make a list, and maybe I will for my own sanity, of all the times in the Bible we as followers of Christ are commanded to “learn to do right; seek justice. Defend the oppressed.Take up the cause of the fatherless; plead the case of the widow” (Isaiah 1:17) But truly that list would be too long (praise the Lord) and doesn’t Jesus’s go-to commandment “love your neighbor as yourself” suffice?

Throughout the Old Testament there were countless provisions for the poor and needy. God set up an economic and social system that was radically new and demonstrated His love for every person. But really, looking at Jesus’s life should be enough! Every action He took radiated a love for every person He was with. It’s just so obvious the choices He would make were He physically among us today.

I don’t see how this can be refuted. Not everything is black and white, there’s some gray in this world. It’s not always certain that you’ll come to a belief with no misgivings or regrets. But holy crap, this is not one of those times.

Please try and show me how Jesus would support the majority of decisions already made by this administration, but especially a ban on Muslims entering the United States.

Christians should not have to be told that believing this to be an edifying piece of legislation is diametrically opposing the gospel they profess to believe in.
It’s baffling that I’m writing this actually anticipating Christians to disagree.

Yes, God is still in control- I can rest in His provision. But you’d better believe I also rest in the fact that He is a just God. That His “justice will become a light to the nations...I know that the LORD will maintain the cause of the afflicted and justice for the poor.” (Isaiah 51:4, Psalm 140:12)

That’s the God I serve.

Leave a Reply

